TenQ · Equity ReportCharts view ⇢  Fact sheet  2026-06-30

Goldman SachsGS

$302.4B market cap

Classified by the SEC under security brokers, dealers and flotation companies.

$1038.61-9.4% from 52-week high · delayed close as of 2026-09-04 · not investment advice
+43.5% vs S&P 500 (SPY) +20.3% over twelve months
$678.20$803.94$929.67$1055$1181Sep '25Nov '25Jan '26Apr '26Jun '26Sep '26
The verdict

Goldman Sachs in 28 checks

Goldman Sachs at a glance: how it scores on value, growth, quality, health, shareholder returns and trend. The fuller the shape, the stronger the company. Behind each axis are six pass-or-fail checks from its filings, spelled out in the chapters below. Point at an axis to see them.

VALUEGROWTHQUALITYHEALTHRETURNSTREND

The business itself is the question here - 18 of 28 checks passed.

Advertisement
I

Value

●●●●●2/5

What you pay today for what the business produces, measured against GS's own history and its peers, never a universal rule.

Expensive against its own history and its sector - you're paying up for what you get.

15.7xown 11-year median 10x
4.6xown 11-year median 2x
-13.7%cash earned per $ of price
-whole-business multiple
Today’s multiple

Is the price high or low right now, compared to what the market usually pays?

11-year median 10xP/E today 15.7x

At 15.7x earnings, the market is paying +64% more than GS's own 11-year median of 9.6x. Expectations are elevated, so more has to go right to justify the price.

Valuation history

What has the market paid for GS over the years?

0.0010.0020152016201720182019202020212022202320242025202611-year median 9.6xP/E 15.73

2026 = at the latest close (2026-09-04), over the trailing twelve months; earlier years are annual averages

At 15.7x earnings, the market is paying +64% more than GS's own 11-year median of 9.6x. Expectations are elevated, so more has to go right to justify the price.

Free cash flow yield

What cash return does the business throw off per dollar of market value?

-13.7%FCF yield today

-25%0.0%25%20152016201720182019202020212022202320242025202611-year median 1.4%FCF yield -14%

2026 = at the latest close (2026-09-04), over the trailing twelve months; earlier years are annual averages

At -13.7%, you get less cash per dollar of market value than the 11-year median of 1.4% - the market is charging more for the same cash.

What does “Value” actually mean?

Value asks what you pay for each dollar of earnings, sales or cash the business produces. A high multiple isn't automatically bad - fast growers earn theirs - but a price far above the company's own history means the market expects a lot to go right. We compare each multiple to the company's own past and to its sector, never to a universal rule.

How we scored it · 2 of 5 checks passed
Cheaper than its own history (earnings)15.73 vs 9.57
Earnings yield beats a long bond (4%)6.4% vs 4.0%
Better cash yield than its own history-13.7% vs 1.4%
Free cash flow yield above 3%FCF yield -13.7%
Cheap on enterprise valueEBITDA at or below zero, or unavailable
Price isn't outrunning growthPEG 0.79
II

Growth

●●●●●●4/6

What the company has actually reported - is it selling more, and is more of it becoming profit?

Growing, but with caveats - revenue +17.8% over the last year.

+17.8%vs the year before
+7.2%compound annual
+34.8%net income growth
+19.8%compound annual
Revenue history

Revenue: is the business selling more than it used to?

0.00$25.0B$50.0B2011201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026$66.2B

◌ 2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter, not a full fiscal year

Revenue reached $58.3B in 2025, compounding +7% a year since 2022 though the pace has cooled. The trailing twelve months are already running at $66.2B, ahead of the last full year.

Profit history

Net income: how much of that revenue becomes profit?

0.00$10.0B$20.0B20112012201320142015201620172018201920202021$21.6B20222023202420252026$21.0B

◌ 2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter, not a full fiscal year

Net income was $17.2B in 2025, compounding +15% a year over three years. Earnings per share moved +35% over the last twelve months. Trailing twelve-month profit stands at $21.0B.

Growth rate

How fast is it growing, year by year?

+9%revenue growth, FY 2025

0.0%100%201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420258.9%20%

In 2025 revenue grew +9% while earnings moved +20% - when the earnings line runs above revenue, each new dollar of sales is arriving more profitably.

Per-share growth

Revenue per share: is your slice growing as fast as the company?

$183.51revenue per share, FY 2025

0.002002011201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026208-131

2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter (2026-06-30), not a full fiscal year

Revenue per share reached $183.51 in 2025, compounding +12% a year against +7% for GS as a whole. Buybacks added roughly 4.4 points to your per-share result. Free cash flow per share stands at $-148.67.

What does “Growth” actually mean?

Growth here is what the company has actually reported to the SEC - not a forecast. We look at the last year, the three-year pace, whether growth is speeding up or slowing down, and whether it's been consistent rather than one lucky year. Hatched bars are fourth quarters we derived from annual filings (companies file a full-year 10-K rather than a Q4 report).

How we scored it · 4 of 6 checks passed
Outgrew its sector last year17.8% vs 22.7% (sector 70th pct, n=73)
Sustained growth beats its sector (3 years)7.2% vs 10.2% (sector 70th pct, n=68)
Profits grew last year34.8% vs 0.0%
Profit growth beats its peers19.8% vs 8.2% (sector 70th pct, n=67)
Growth is speeding up, not slowing1y 17.8% vs 3y 7.2%
Grew per share, not just in total38.7% vs 0.0%
III

Quality

not scored

Whether the growth makes real money - margins, returns on capital, and whether profits turn into cash.

Not enough data to score this fairly - the checks below show exactly what's missing.

Why there's no score: gross profit not tagged in its filings; operating income or capital employed unavailable; operating margin not reported.
-kept after direct costs
-kept after running costs
17.1%profit on shareholders' money
-against a 10% cost of capital
-188%operating cash ÷ net income
Margins

Margins: of every $1 of sales, how much survives each cost layer?

0.0%20%2011201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026Net margin 32%

2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter (2026-06-30), not a full fiscal year

Net margin stands at 29% in 2025. GS doesn't break out gross or operating margin in its filings, so net is the only layer the data supports.

Earnings quality

Earnings quality: do the reported profits turn into real cash?

0.002011201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026$-39.4B$21.0B

2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter (2026-06-30), not a full fiscal year

Only -188% of reported profit becomes operating cash. Accounting profit is running ahead of cash collection, which is worth watching in the receivables and inventory lines.

Returns on capital

What does it earn on the money it uses?

0.0%10%20%201120122013201420152016201720182019202020212022202320242025202617%1.0%

2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter (2026-06-30), not a full fiscal year

ROE of 14% on shareholders' capital (ROCE isn't meaningful for this business model).

Cash conversion

How much of every sales dollar ends up as free cash?

0.0%201174%201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026-63%

◌ 2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter, not a full fiscal year

Free cash flow is negative, so no share of revenue is currently converting to spare cash. Every sales dollar is being reinvested or consumed.

Spending intensity

What does staying competitive cost, per dollar of sales?

0.0%10%20%20112012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024202520263.3%5.2%

2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter (2026-06-30), not a full fiscal year

The biggest claim on each sales dollar is stock compensation, at 6% of revenue (capital spending 4%). That share has fallen since 2022, so the cost of competing is easing.

What does “Quality” actually mean?

Quality asks whether the growth makes real money. Margins show how much of each sale survives costs; return on equity shows what shareholders earn on their capital; and the profit-to-cash comparison catches companies whose accounting profits never turn into actual cash.

How we scored it · 1 of 3 checks passed
Better gross margins than peersgross profit not tagged in its filings
Runs leaner than peers (operating margin)operating margin not reported
Actually profitableTTM net income $21.0B
Earns well on shareholders' money17.1% vs 23.2% (sector 70th pct, n=77)
Earns a real return on the capital it employsoperating income or capital employed unavailable
Profits are cash, not accounting-1.88 vs 0.80
IV

Health

not scored

The balance sheet stress test: could GS survive a bad year?

Not enough data to score this fairly - the checks below show exactly what's missing.

Why there's no score: current assets or liabilities not split out; debt unreported - cannot verify; operating income or interest expense unava.
-debt unreported
-near-term bills coverage
-earnings ÷ interest bill
$187.3Bcash plus short-term investments
Debt & cash

Could it handle its debt if things went wrong?

0.00$100B$200B201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026$72.4B$187B

Debt isn't clearly tagged in GS's filings, so treat the balance sheet with extra care rather than assuming zero.

Shareholders' equity

Is the company's own capital growing or shrinking?

0.00$50.0B$100B20122013201420152016201720182019202020212022202320242025$125B2026$123B

The company's own capital grew from $116.9B in 2023 to $122.7B (+5%). The business is building book value rather than consuming it.

What does “Health” actually mean?

Health asks one question: can the business survive a bad year? We check whether near-term bills are covered, whether debt is modest and shrinking, whether earnings comfortably pay the interest, and - for loss-makers - how many years of cash are left at the current burn rate.

How we scored it · 1 of 3 checks passed
Comfortable near-term liquiditycurrent assets or liabilities not split out
Debt isn't dominatingdebt unreported - cannot verify
Debt trending the right wayliabilities are 94.2% of assets vs 92.5% five years ago
Earnings cover the interestoperating income or interest expense unavailable
Converts sales to cash better than its sector-59.5% vs 35.3% (sector 70th pct, n=76)
Self-funding4.51 years of cash at current burn
V

Shareholder returns

●●●●●5/5

How much cash actually flows back to owners - dividends, buybacks, whether the share count truly falls, and whether what is handed back is affordable.

Owners are paid reliably and affordably, and the share count is not eroding their stake.

$20.1Bdividends plus buybacks
$5.3Blast fiscal year
$12.4Blast fiscal year
$3.4Bdilutes the buybacks
-43.0%since 2011 (as reported)
Capital returned vs stock comp

How much goes back to shareholders - and how much leaks out as stock compensation?

0.00$5.0B$10.0B201120122013201420152016201720182019202020212022202320242025

$17.6B returned last year against $3.4B of stock issued to employees - the returns outweigh the dilution 5.1-to-1.

Dilution rate (split-adjusted)

How fast is your ownership being diluted - or concentrated?

-5.0%0.0%201220132014201520162017201820192020202120220.6%202320242025-4.8%

The count shrank 4.8% last year - buybacks are outrunning stock compensation.

Dividend per share (split-adjusted)

Is the dividend cheque itself growing?

0.0010.00201120122013201420152016201720182019202020212022202320242025DPS 16.62

Up from $6.48 to $16.62 per share over 5 years - the cheque keeps growing.

Dividend yield

What does the payout earn you at each year's prices?

0.0%2.0%4.0%201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026Yield 1.7%

2026 = at the latest close (2026-09-04), over the trailing twelve months; earlier years are annual averages

At today's price the yield is 1.7%.

Payout quality

Can it actually afford the dividend?

0.0%100%201120122013201420152016201720182019202020212022202320242025202625%74%

2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter (2026-06-30), not a full fiscal year

Comfortable: 31% of profits go out as dividends - well inside what the business generates.

Dilution against what it bought

GS has issued or retired shares - did shareholders end up better off?

020020112012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024202557355

Both lines start at 100 in 2011, so the gap between them is what each share gained or lost. Share counts are split-adjusted.

GS has shrunk its share count -43% from 2011 to 2025, so each remaining share owns more of the business. Revenue per share is +255% over the same years.

Why compare buybacks with stock compensation?

A company can trumpet billions in buybacks while quietly issuing nearly as much stock to employees. What matters to you is the net effect: is the share count actually falling? If not, the 'return' is mostly recycling.

How we scored it · 5 of 5 checks passed
Share count isn't climbingshares down 11.3% over 3 years
Buybacks outpace the stock issued to staff$14.0B bought back vs $3.5B of stock compensation
What it hands back fits inside its cash flowfree cash flow unavailable or negative
Meaningful yield to owners (dividends and buybacks)$20.1B returned, 6.7% of market value
Reliable payer, never cutpaid 10/10 years, worst year-on-year change 2.3%
Dividend growing ahead of inflation43.3% vs 9.0%
VI

Trend analysis

●●●●●5/6

What the market is doing about all of the above. This is price behaviour, not a fact about the business - read it as the market's current opinion, scored on six checks like every other chapter. The market is the S&P 500, measured by the SPY ETF with dividends included, over 3 months (63 trading sessions) and 12 months (252).

The market agrees: the stock is in a healthy uptrend on every horizon.

+10.6%the long-term trend line
+0.5%S&P 500 (SPY): +4.7%
+41.4%S&P 500 (SPY): +20.0%
-9.4%drawdown from peak
Trend

How is GS's trend actually behaving right now?

Price chart loads as you scroll…

Chart by TradingView

GS has no trend to speak of right now: the price is inside the band where recent trading settled, and that band is tilting down, so the drift is gently against it. It crossed only 2 sessions ago, so treat it as unsettled. The last two weeks have rolled over even though the price is above where it stood a month ago, which is what losing steam looks like before it shows up in the trend. The band drawn for the coming weeks turns downward partway through, so that support is set to thin out from there.

How the trend above is worked out

The trend read comes from the daily Ichimoku picture, a standard trend indicator, translated out of its jargon. It builds a band from the midpoints of the last 9, 26 and 52 sessions' highs and lows - in effect, the range where recent trading has settled - and draws that band 26 sessions into the future. Price above the band is an uptrend, below it a downtrend, inside it no trend. Because the band is drawn forward, the support for the next few weeks is already fixed and a change of its direction can be seen coming. We also compare the last two weeks against the last month, and today's price against where it stood a month ago. None of this says anything about the business; it describes the price only, and it is not advice. Where a check says 'the S&P 500', the comparison is with the SPY ETF including dividends, on the same adjusted basis as the stock's own price: short means 3 months, 63 trading sessions; long means 12 months, 252.

How we scored it · 5 of 6 checks passed
In an uptrend1,039 vs 939.20
Trend structure is healthy1,039 vs 939.20
Rising over 3 months0.5% vs 0.0%
Beating the S&P 500 over 3 months0.5% vs 4.7%
Beating the S&P 500 over 12 months41.4% vs 20.0%
Not in a deep hole-9.4% from its 52-week high
VII

Insider activity

informational

What the people running the company do with their own shares - reported to the SEC within two days, classified so pay-plumbing doesn't masquerade as conviction.

$21Mtheir own money
$5Moften pre-scheduled
55of the last filings
5grants · exercises · tax
Open-market flow

Are the people running it buying or selling with their own money?

$25M0.00Nov '25Dec '25Jan '26Feb '26Apr '26May '26Jun '26Jul '26Aug '26

Insiders bought $21M against $5M of sales - net buying with their own money is the single most bullish signal insiders can send.

The record

Who did what, exactly?

DateInsiderRoleTypeSharesValue
2026-08-28Ericka T LeslieChief Administrative OfficerSELL600$620,280
2026-08-06Sachs Group Inc GoldmanInsiderBUY500,000$9M
2026-08-06Sachs Group Inc GoldmanInsiderBUY500,000$9M
2026-08-05Sachs Group Inc GoldmanInsiderBUY85,000$2M
2026-08-05Sachs Group Inc GoldmanInsiderSELL988$21,766
2026-08-05Sachs Group Inc GoldmanInsiderSELL447$9,776
2026-08-05Sachs Group Inc GoldmanInsiderSELL1,332$29,344
2026-08-05Sachs Group Inc GoldmanInsiderSELL200$4,410
2026-08-05Sachs Group Inc GoldmanInsiderSELL1,556$34,325
2026-08-05Sachs Group Inc GoldmanInsiderSELL3,402$74,912
Why do the transaction types matter so much?

Most insider filings are not trades: stock grants, option exercises and tax withholding are how executives get paid, and gifts are estate planning. The signal lives in open-market transactions - a buy means an insider chose to spend their own cash on the stock. Sells are murkier: many are pre-scheduled 10b5-1 plans set months in advance. That's why the chart counts only open-market activity, and the table labels every row.

§

Recent filings

  • 8-K Material event
  • 10-Q Quarterly report
  • 8-K Material event
  • 8-K Material event
  • 8-K Material event
  • 8-K Material event
  • 8-K Material event
  • 8-K Material event
The TenQ weekly brief is coming.One email a week: the charts that mattered, nothing else.