TenQ · Equity ReportCharts view ⇢  Fact sheet  2026-06-30

UnitedHealthUNH

$356.5B market cap

Classified by the SEC under hospital and medical service plans.

$397.14-9.0% from 52-week high · delayed close as of 2026-09-04 · not investment advice
+29.3% vs S&P 500 (SPY) +20.3% over twelve months
$243.25$295.10$346.95$398.80$450.65Sep '25Nov '25Jan '26Apr '26Jun '26Sep '26
The verdict

UnitedHealth in 30 checks

UnitedHealth at a glance: how it scores on value, growth, quality, health, shareholder returns and trend. The fuller the shape, the stronger the company. Behind each axis are six pass-or-fail checks from its filings, spelled out in the chapters below. Point at an axis to see them.

VALUEGROWTHQUALITYHEALTHRETURNSTREND

The business itself is the question here - 16 of 30 checks passed.

Advertisement
I

Value

●●●●1/5

What you pay today for what the business produces, measured against UNH's own history and its peers, never a universal rule.

Expensive against its own history and its sector - you're paying up for what you get.

25.6xown 11-year median 18x
0.8xown 11-year median 1x
6.6%cash earned per $ of price
15.3xwhole-business multiple
Today’s multiple

Is the price high or low right now, compared to what the market usually pays?

11-year median 18xP/E today 25.6x

At 25.6x earnings, the market is paying +44% more than UNH's own 11-year median of 17.8x. Expectations are elevated, so more has to go right to justify the price.

Valuation history

What has the market paid for UNH over the years?

0.0020.0020152016201720182019202020212022202320242025202611-year median 17.8xP/E 25.62

2026 = at the latest close (2026-09-04), over the trailing twelve months; earlier years are annual averages

At 25.6x earnings, the market is paying +44% more than UNH's own 11-year median of 17.8x. Expectations are elevated, so more has to go right to justify the price.

What does “Value” actually mean?

Value asks what you pay for each dollar of earnings, sales or cash the business produces. A high multiple isn't automatically bad - fast growers earn theirs - but a price far above the company's own history means the market expects a lot to go right. We compare each multiple to the company's own past and to its sector, never to a universal rule.

How we scored it · 1 of 5 checks passed
Cheaper than its own history (earnings)25.62 vs 17.79
Earnings yield beats a long bond (4%)3.9% vs 4.0%
Better cash yield than its own history6.6% vs 6.4%
Hands back over 3% in dividends and buybacks2.7% vs 3.0%
Cheap on book value3.41 vs 1.50 (peer median)
Price isn't outrunning growthno positive 3-year earnings growth to compare against
II

Growth

●●●●●1/6

What the company has actually reported - is it selling more, and is more of it becoming profit?

Growth is weak or inconsistent - the trend, not the story, is the problem.

+6.5%vs the year before
+11.4%compound annual
-33.7%net income growth
-14.5%compound annual
Revenue history

Revenue: is the business selling more than it used to?

0.00$200B$400B2011201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026$450B

◌ 2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter, not a full fiscal year

Revenue reached $447.6B in 2025, compounding +11% a year since 2022 and the pace is picking up. The last twelve months (+6%) ran below that pace, so growth is slowing.

Profit history

Net income: how much of that revenue becomes profit?

0.00$10.0B$20.0B2011201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023$22.4B202420252026$14.1B

◌ 2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter, not a full fiscal year

Net income was $12.1B in 2025, compounding -16% a year over three years. Earnings per share moved -34% over the last twelve months. Trailing twelve-month profit stands at $14.1B.

Growth rate

How fast is it growing, year by year?

+12%revenue growth, FY 2025

0.0%50%2012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024202512%-16%

In 2025 revenue grew +12% while earnings moved -16% - when the earnings line runs above revenue, each new dollar of sales is arriving more profitably.

Per-share growth

Revenue per share: is your slice growing as fast as the company?

$491.29revenue per share, FY 2025

0.002004002011201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026Revenue per share 494

2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter (2026-06-30), not a full fiscal year

Revenue per share reached $491.29 in 2025, compounding +13% a year against +11% for UNH as a whole. Buybacks added roughly 1.6 points to your per-share result.

What does “Growth” actually mean?

Growth here is what the company has actually reported to the SEC - not a forecast. We look at the last year, the three-year pace, whether growth is speeding up or slowing down, and whether it's been consistent rather than one lucky year. Hatched bars are fourth quarters we derived from annual filings (companies file a full-year 10-K rather than a Q4 report).

How we scored it · 1 of 6 checks passed
Premiums outgrew the sector last year7.3% vs 16.7% (sector 70th pct, n=103)
Sustained growth beats its sector (3 years)11.4% vs 11.7% (sector 70th pct, n=101)
Profits grew last year-33.7% vs 0.0%
Profit growth beats its peers-14.5% vs 13.8% (sector 70th pct, n=80)
Growth is speeding up, not slowing1y 6.5% vs 3y 11.4%
Grew per share, not just in total44.0% vs 0.0%
III

Quality

not scored

Whether the growth makes real money - margins, returns on capital, and whether profits turn into cash.

Not enough data to score this fairly - the checks below show exactly what's missing.

Why there's no score: claims not reported; expense to revenue not reported; underwriting margin not reported.
88.6%kept after direct costs
4.8%kept after running costs
13.5%profit on shareholders' money
13.5%against a 10% cost of capital
191%operating cash ÷ net income
Margins

Margins: of every $1 of sales, how much survives each cost layer?

0.0%5.0%20112012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024202520264.8%3.1%

2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter (2026-06-30), not a full fiscal year

Operating margin compressed 5 points to 4% since 2022. After everything, 3 cents of each sales dollar reaches net profit. UNH doesn't tag a gross-profit line in its filings, so the chart starts at operating margin.

Earnings quality

Earnings quality: do the reported profits turn into real cash?

0.00$20.0B2011201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026$27.0B$14.1B

2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter (2026-06-30), not a full fiscal year

Operating cash flow runs at 191% of reported profit, so the earnings are more than backed by cash - depreciation and other non-cash charges are understating what the business actually collects.

Returns on capital

What does it earn on the money it uses?

0.0%10%20%201120122013201420152016201720182019202020212022202320242025202614%4.6%9.7%

2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter (2026-06-30), not a full fiscal year

ROE 12% and ROCE 10% sit close together - the returns come from the business itself, not from borrowing.

Return on equity

Does UNH earn more on its capital than that capital costs?

0.0%10%20%20112012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024202510% cost-of-capital lineReturn on equity 12%

UNH earns 12.0% on the capital it employs, comfortably above the 10% most investors treat as the cost of capital. It was 24.7% in 2022, so the trend is down, though the pace has cooled. That is the lowest in UNH's filed history.

What does “Quality” actually mean?

Quality asks whether the growth makes real money. Margins show how much of each sale survives costs; return on equity shows what shareholders earn on their capital; and the profit-to-cash comparison catches companies whose accounting profits never turn into actual cash.

How we scored it · 2 of 3 checks passed
Underwrites at a profit, better than peersunderwriting margin not reported
Runs leaner than peers (expenses vs revenue)expense to revenue not reported
Actually profitableTTM net income $14.1B
Earns well on shareholders' money13.5% vs 17.8% (sector 70th pct, n=101)
Earns a real return on shareholders' capital13.5% vs 10.0%
Claims stay contained (loss ratio)claims not reported
IV

Health

●●●●2/4

The balance sheet stress test: could UNH survive a bad year?

The balance sheet carries real risk - read the checks before anything else.

0.70xborrowed vs owned
0.8xnear-term bills coverage
6xearnings ÷ interest bill
$31.5Bcash plus short-term investments
Debt & cash

Could it handle its debt if things went wrong?

0.00$50.0B201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026$73.3B$28.6B

2026 = the latest balance sheet (2026-06-30), not a fiscal year-end

Debt of $73.3B sits against $31.5B of cash, or 0.7x shareholders' equity. Earnings cover interest 5.6 times - adequate, with less room than it looks in a downturn.

Shareholders' equity

Is the company's own capital growing or shrinking?

0.00$50.0B$100B201220132014201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026$105B

The company's own capital grew from $94.4B in 2023 to $104.5B (+11%). The business is building book value rather than consuming it.

What does “Health” actually mean?

Health asks one question: can the business survive a bad year? We check whether near-term bills are covered, whether debt is modest and shrinking, whether earnings comfortably pay the interest, and - for loss-makers - how many years of cash are left at the current burn rate.

How we scored it · 2 of 4 checks passed
Capitalised well33.7% vs 15.0%
Less levered than its peers0.66 vs 0.71 (sector 30th pct, n=106)
Debt trending the right waydebt/equity 0.70 now vs 0.61 five years ago
Investment income covers the interestinvestment income or interest expense unavailable
Converts sales to cash better than its sector6.0% vs 27.0% (sector 70th pct, n=105)
Underwrites at a profit (combined ratio)combined ratio unavailable
V

Shareholder returns

●●●●●●6/6

How much cash actually flows back to owners - dividends, buybacks, whether the share count truly falls, and whether what is handed back is affordable.

Owners are paid reliably and affordably, and the share count is not eroding their stake.

$9.7Bdividends plus buybacks
$7.9Blast fiscal year
$5.5Blast fiscal year
$971Mdilutes the buybacks
-16.2%since 2011 (as reported)
Capital returned vs stock comp

How much goes back to shareholders - and how much leaks out as stock compensation?

0.00$5.0B201120122013201420152016201720182019202020212022202320242025

$13.5B returned last year against $971M of stock issued to employees - the returns outweigh the dilution 13.9-to-1.

Dilution rate (split-adjusted)

How fast is your ownership being diluted - or concentrated?

-2.5%0.0%2012201320142015201620171.8%20182019202020212022202320242025-1.9%

The count shrank 1.9% last year - buybacks are outrunning stock compensation.

Dividend per share (split-adjusted)

Is the dividend cheque itself growing?

0.005.00201120122013201420152016201720182019202020212022202320242025DPS 8.69

Up from $4.77 to $8.69 per share over 5 years - the cheque keeps growing.

Dividend yield

What does the payout earn you at each year's prices?

0.0%1.0%2.0%201520162017201820192020202120222023202420252026Yield 2.2%

2026 = at the latest close (2026-09-04), over the trailing twelve months; earlier years are annual averages

At today's price the yield is 2.2%.

Payout quality

Can it actually afford the dividend?

0.0%25%50%201120122013201420152016201720182019202020212022202320242025202656%34%

2026 = trailing twelve months to the latest filed quarter (2026-06-30), not a full fiscal year

Stretched: 66% of profits and 49% of free cash flow go out as dividends - most of what the business generates, so a cut gets likelier in a bad year.

Dilution against what it bought

UNH has issued or retired shares - did shareholders end up better off?

020040020112012201320142015201620172018201920202021202220232024202584524

Both lines start at 100 in 2011, so the gap between them is what each share gained or lost. Share counts are split-adjusted.

UNH has shrunk its share count -16% from 2011 to 2025, so each remaining share owns more of the business. Revenue per share is +424% over the same years.

Why compare buybacks with stock compensation?

A company can trumpet billions in buybacks while quietly issuing nearly as much stock to employees. What matters to you is the net effect: is the share count actually falling? If not, the 'return' is mostly recycling.

How we scored it · 6 of 6 checks passed
Share count isn't climbingshares down 4.1% over 3 years
Buybacks outpace the stock issued to staff$1.6B bought back vs $1.0B of stock compensation
What it hands back fits inside its profits69.0% vs 100.0%
Meaningful yield to owners (dividends and buybacks)$9.7B returned, 2.7% of market value
Reliable payer, never cutpaid 10/10 years, worst year-on-year change 5.1%
Dividend growing ahead of inflation32.1% vs 9.0%
VI

Trend analysis

●●●●●●4/6

What the market is doing about all of the above. This is price behaviour, not a fact about the business - read it as the market's current opinion, scored on six checks like every other chapter. The market is the S&P 500, measured by the SPY ETF with dividends included, over 3 months (63 trading sessions) and 12 months (252).

Mixed signals from the market - some trends up, some rolling over.

+13.7%the long-term trend line
-0.0%S&P 500 (SPY): +4.7%
+31.4%S&P 500 (SPY): +20.0%
-9.0%drawdown from peak
Trend

How is UNH's trend actually behaving right now?

Price chart loads as you scroll…

Chart by TradingView

UNH is in a downtrend. The price is below the band where recent trading settled and that band is still falling, so nothing in the picture has turned yet. Both the last two weeks and the month-ago comparison point down as well, so nothing here disagrees with the downtrend. The band drawn for the coming weeks turns downward partway through, so that support is set to thin out from there.

How the trend above is worked out

The trend read comes from the daily Ichimoku picture, a standard trend indicator, translated out of its jargon. It builds a band from the midpoints of the last 9, 26 and 52 sessions' highs and lows - in effect, the range where recent trading has settled - and draws that band 26 sessions into the future. Price above the band is an uptrend, below it a downtrend, inside it no trend. Because the band is drawn forward, the support for the next few weeks is already fixed and a change of its direction can be seen coming. We also compare the last two weeks against the last month, and today's price against where it stood a month ago. None of this says anything about the business; it describes the price only, and it is not advice. Where a check says 'the S&P 500', the comparison is with the SPY ETF including dividends, on the same adjusted basis as the stock's own price: short means 3 months, 63 trading sessions; long means 12 months, 252.

How we scored it · 4 of 6 checks passed
In an uptrend397.14 vs 349.14
Trend structure is healthy411.74 vs 349.14
Rising over 3 months-0.0% vs 0.0%
Beating the S&P 500 over 3 months-0.0% vs 4.7%
Beating the S&P 500 over 12 months31.4% vs 20.0%
Not in a deep hole-9.0% from its 52-week high
VII

Insider activity

informational

What the people running the company do with their own shares - reported to the SEC within two days, classified so pay-plumbing doesn't masquerade as conviction.

$0.00their own money
$944,910often pre-scheduled
3of the last filings
39grants · exercises · tax
Open-market flow

Are the people running it buying or selling with their own money?

5000002500000.00Apr '26Aug '26

No open-market buying, and $944,910 of selling across 2 months. Selling alone is a weak signal - much of it is pre-scheduled - but the absence of buying tells you no insider saw the price as a bargain.

The record

Who did what, exactly?

DateInsiderRoleTypeSharesValue
2026-09-02Wayne S DeveydtChief Financial Officertax1,209$483,147
2026-08-21Patrick Hugh ConwayChief Executive Officer, OptumSELL1,169$455,910
2026-08-11Dennis Andrew StankiewiczChief Accounting Officertax233$93,872
2026-08-05Patrick Hugh ConwayChief Executive Officer, OptumSELL500$205,000
2026-06-05Patrick Hugh ConwayChief Executive Officer, Optumtax687$274,380
2026-06-03Christopher R ZaettaEVP & Chief Legal Officertax134$50,526
2026-06-02Patrick Hugh ConwayChief Executive Officer, Optumtax204$77,028
2026-04-23Patrick Hugh ConwayChief Executive Officer, OptumSELL800$284,000
Why do the transaction types matter so much?

Most insider filings are not trades: stock grants, option exercises and tax withholding are how executives get paid, and gifts are estate planning. The signal lives in open-market transactions - a buy means an insider chose to spend their own cash on the stock. Sells are murkier: many are pre-scheduled 10b5-1 plans set months in advance. That's why the chart counts only open-market activity, and the table labels every row.

§

Recent filings

  • 10-Q Quarterly report
  • 8-K Material event
  • 10-Q Quarterly report
  • DEF 14A Proxy statement
  • 10-K Annual report
  • 10-Q Quarterly report
  • 10-Q Quarterly report
  • 10-Q Quarterly report
The TenQ weekly brief is coming.One email a week: the charts that mattered, nothing else.